Jimmy Barnes ‘Working Class Man’ comes back to Adelaide.

Jimmy Barnes Working class man: An evening of stories and song. Will play its final date at Adelaide’s, Thebarton theatre on June 10th.

Jimmy Barnes’ latest memoir Working Class Man builds on the enormous success he enjoyed from his earlier, self-written memoir – Working Class Boy.

The 2018 Australian Book Industry Awards (ABIAs) were announced late last week, and for the second year in a row, the Biography Book of the Year was awarded to music legend Jimmy Barnes for the second instalment of his bestselling autobiography, “Working Class Man” (HarperCollins), with sales of over 160,000 copies.

Jimmy takes his story on the road around Australia telling stories of his adult life and singing stripped back versions of the songs that have shaped his journey so far.

This new show and book – entirely written by Jimmy – begins with the story of Cold Chisel. 1974 saw Jimmy and the band say goodbye to Adelaide with a passion to become one of Australia’s greatest rock bands. The end of Cold Chisel meant Jimmy had to look toward a new horizon. His subsequent solo career saw him become the country’s biggest rock star, before alcohol and drugs eventually dragged him down to a place where many would have stayed. But Jimmy with the help of his family, slowly rebuilt his life and career. It’s a tale of a man who has overcome the worst and yet always given us his best.

Working Class Man: An Evening of Stories & Songs is presented by Triple M and MAX. The tour will help promote the good work of Lifeline (www.lifeline.org.au)

Jimmy will also be drawing attention to the issues of mental health and substance abuse.

“In book one I faced the damage that a broken home and a broken heart can bring. In book two I face the impact that a childhood like mine can have on a man. Don’t get me wrong. I’m not blaming anyone for any of this. We all do the best with what we have. But in book two the blame rests squarely on my shoulders, and until I work a lot of things out I carry a lot of baggage around with me …

I have done a lot of great things. I have a beautiful family and wonderful friends. But there were many times, dark times, that I almost let it all slip through my fingers. In the end I asked for help. I used to think that if someone asked for help they were weak. But the toughest thing I ever did was reach out and ask for help. And that was when I started to heal.”

TOUR DATES

Tickets Available from Ticketmaster Australia

Thu 15 Mar – Anita’s Theatre, Thirroul NSW
Fri 16 Mar – Anita’s Theatre, Thirroul NSW
Sat 17 Mar – Canberra Theatre, Canberra ACT
Sun 18 Mar – Canberra Theatre, Canberra ACT
Wed 21 Mar – Entertainment Centre, Devonport TAS
Thu 22 Mar – Country Club Showroom, Launceston TAS
Fri 23 Mar – Country Club Showroom, Launceston TAS
Sat 24 Mar – Wrestpoint Entertainment Centre, Hobart TAS
Thu 5 Apr – Parklands Resort & Conference Centre, Mudgee NSW
Fri 6 Apr – Civic Theatre, Newcastle NSW
Sat 7 Apr – Bathurst Entertainment Centre, Bathurst NSW
Tue 10 Apr – Brisbane City Hall, Brisbane QLD
Thu 12 Apr – Brisbane City Hall, Brisbane QLD
Fri 13 Apr – Empire Theatre, Toowoomba QLD
Sat 14 Apr – The Star, Gold Coast QLD
Wed 18 Apr – Bunbury Regional Ent. Centre, Bunbury WA
Thu 19 Apr – Perth Concert Hall, Perth WA
Sat 21 Apr – Keith Mitchell Theatre, Port Pirie SA
Sun 22 Apr – Thebarton Theatre, Adelaide SA
Thu 26 Apr – Frankston Arts Centre Theatre, Frankston VIC
Fri 27 Apr – Costa Hall GPAC, Geelong VIC
Sat 28 Apr – Palais Theatre, Melbourne VIC
Sun 29 Apr – Ulumbarra Theatre, Bendigo VIC
Wed 2 May – Centennial Hall, Sydney Town Hall, Sydney NSW
Thu 3 May – Centennial Hall, Sydney Town Hall, Sydney NSW
Sun 20 May – Darwin Entertainment Centre, Darwin NT
Tue 22 May – Tank Arts Centre, Cairns QLD
Wed 23 May – Tank Arts Centre, Cairns QLD
Fri 25 May – Entertainment & Convention Centre, Townsville QLD
Sat 26 May – Plenary Halls, Ent. & Convention Centre, Mackay QLD
Sun 27 May – Pilbeam Theatre, Rockhampton QLD
Tue 29 May – Caloundra Events Centre, Caloundra QLD
Wed 30 May – Saraton Theatre, Grafton NSW
Fri 1 Jun – Joan Sutherland PAC, Penrith NSW
Sat 2 Jun – Concourse Concert Hall, Chatswood NSW
Wed 6 Jun – Civic Theatre, Newcastle NSW
Sat 9 Jun – Palais Theatre, Melbourne VIC
Sun 10 Jun – Thebarton Theatre, Adelaide SA

Tickets Available from Ticketmaster Australia

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s